Marsha's Book Reviews

Grand CentralBook of the Year

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
By Carol A. Proesel on January 31, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a very good book. Funny and sincere. Highly recommend. Good easy read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Report abuse

5.0 out of 5 stars A FUN FILLED ROMANCE
By Amazon Customer on January 30, 2016
Format: Paperback Grand Central Station: Marsha Casper Cook
Some events happen for a reason. Some unions of two people are totally unexpected. This is a story of love, romance, understanding, trust and most of all family loyalties.

5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this funny story about life and relationship and I ...
By Friend of IDF on February 26, 2016
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this funny story about life and relationship and I would like to see this as a movie. It would be a lot of fun.

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Romantic Comedy!!
By Amazon Customer on April 12, 2016
Format: Paperback | Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed Grand Central Station. I don’t want to give away too much of the plot. The story incorporated several significant lessons, such as the importance of maintaining honesty in every relationship. The fact that a gambling problem shattered a family is all too realistic, and the reader truly felt the depth of Victoria's pain. The story also emphasized the importance of a cohesive family unit, which added greater complexity. The idea of a communal living arrangement was especially heartening. The author successfully created a heartwarming story filled with comedy and romance. This would make a great movie!!

5.0 out of 5 stars “All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.” — Charles Schultz
By Grady Harp HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on April 27, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition | Verified Purchase
Chicago author Marsha Casper Cook is also a screenwriter and radio show personality on Blog Talk Radio discussing writing, publishing and advocating October Breast Cancer Awareness. Her novels include fiction, non-fiction and children’s stories.

Marsha knows how to build credible characters and prepare her reader with a grounded platform that seems so real that the comedy she is about to launch gives us the comfort to laugh at our own similarities and foibles. We first meet an author Jack Winston – ‘It was one of the first serious snowfalls of the season, definitely not a night for a book signing. Doctor Jack Winston had been warned by others not to expect a crowd, but he still hoped for one. Born and raised in Chicago, he should have known better. After peeking inside the Maxwell Meyers bookstore and realizing the truth, Jack decided to walk around the block. He had felt very lucky to be able to talk about his book at one of Chicago’s finest bookstores. If an author had a successful signing at Maxwell Meyers, the book had a great chance of making it to the bestseller list.’

Allow two years to pass before we meet character 2 – Victoria Feingold – ‘Breakfast was not a pretty picture at the Feingold house. There was always so much going on that it could be very difficult to concentrate. Victoria Feingold sometimes referred to her household as “Grand Central Station,” because people were coming and going at all hours of the day. Despite the chaos, Victoria Feingold had a method to all the ongoing madness. She tried her best to ignore the noise, which was pretty easy for her because she was a pediatrician, and her office was loaded with crying kids all day long. Along with the crying came tantrums and vomiting.

4.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful book. I loved all the humor
By JA Armstrong on May 6, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition | Verified Purchase
What a wonderful book. I loved al the humor, the family antics, the romance and the (mis) understandings. Take a lifelong Bachelor and pair him off with a woman who’s hands are more than just full, they are overflowing with commitments, family and pets and you get a hilarious yet charming romance that is all the more believable by the flaws in the characters portrayal. You won’t find perfection of character here, no, you get real people,……. and a talking dog?

Yup, honesty, trust, and humor are important in relationships and this book does well in highlighting that fact. The two main characters have to overcome some issues, personal and together and they are definitely made for one another. The ace is greatly suited to this novel, it doesn’t drag, nor does it race through and you find love and warmth on most pages. I truly enjoyed this book. If you are tired of the same old romances, then read this book, I think it is worth your while.

5.0 out of 5 stars If You're Looking for an Enjoyable Romantic Ready for the Weekend or Vacation...This is it!
By Marsha Allen on May 9, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition | Verified Purchase
Grand Central Station:Some Relationships are Just Meant to Be by Marsha Casper Cook is a hoot!! Lighthearted and fun to read, perfect for a Sunday afternoon or vacation read, this book is a zany look at what happens when 2 doctors marry and one (Jack) inherits the others (Victoria's) crazy household. How hard can it be to make a commitment to another when you fall in love? But how about when when that commitment will include an ex-husband, children and a talking dog? Read this book and find out the hilarious way it can happen!!

5.0 out of 5 stars This author had a great idea and nailed it!
By Sierra Klein on May 2, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition | Verified Purchase
A beautifully written story of luck, romance and trust. The story had humor and a great story line. You can't help but like the characters and humor isn't forced either. I enjoyed each character and their own stories. The author had a great idea and nailed it! I look forward to reading more from this author!


Love Changes

4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read!
By Chelsey McQuittyon July 9, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Screenplays happen to be one of my favorite things to read, so when I saw this book was based off one of the author’s screenplays I couldn’t wait to check it out. I can usually tell when a book is written this way because the dialogue and characters are so strong that you can actually picture the novel taking place in front of you. This is certainly a writing strength that this author possesses, which makes me excited for future work.
When it comes to the story, I really enjoyed the plot very much. I don’t want to divulge too many details, but you will certainly want to read this book all of the way through. Some of the characters are a bit difficult to figure out, but that makes the story a lot more interesting in my eyes. I think, it tackles some lessons in life that many face, but won’t cause you to spend a weekend crying over the ending if you plan on reading this in public.

Love Changes

3.0 out of 5 stars love changes
By Amazon Customer on March 2
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

easy read, one of those books you can put down and come back later and be happy to pick up again

5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read
By M. R. Shull on February 7
Marsha Cook's novel presents her main character, Elaine Lewis, in a unique way. As the story of "Love Changes" unfolds, Elaine appears to be extremely unsympathetic. She does what she wants to do, regardless of the consequences. From the outside looking in, Elaine has the perfect life. She is the wife of a very wealthy, successful and well-loved doctor who adores her. At the same time, we can see that Elaine is desperately unhappy.

This is a very well done book about how the grass is always greener on the other side. Marsha has a wonderful way of telling a story, with each character so true to life. I enjoyed the way the title Love Changes reflected how each of the characters is transformed over time by love. Everyone needs to be loved and needs to share that love. Sometimes, we all need help in sharing love with others. Marsha shows how this change takes place for Elaine to be changed by love.
Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?

5.0 out of 5 stars Love Changes Reviewed
By Amazon Customer on August 21
Format: Paperback

Elaine Lewis is one of those main characters who is more antagonist than protagonist. From the very beginning of the book I hated her, but I so wanted to like her. While her husband Martin is her polar opposite, he was so likable that he almost deserved what Elaine gives him. And it is not in spite of these qualities, but exactly because of them that I truly enjoyed reading Marsha Cook's latest published work.
Love Changes asks a particularly difficult question, fortunately, most of us never have to face. The question of how we handle ourselves when our imagination of a perfect life and the reality of that life collide. For Elaine the collision occurred because her past, one she suppressed and hid, came back to haunt her in the form of her first born son.
I would recommend Love Changes for your vacation or entertainment reading lists. Marsha Cook doesn't preach a message, or try and tear your heart out, while Love Changes does evoke an emotional response it is one that I, as a reader, gladly accepted. Love Changes is an pleasant read, I give it a solid A.